Disco Fever

The measure of a good reporter? The size of his fedora.

The measure of a good reporter? The size of his fedora.

I’ll be the first to admit that the whole newsie interview thing isn’t really my deal. Having planned to cover the Intergenerational Spelling Bee this weekend, I determined Friday that I was too t-i-m-o-r-o-u-s to attend. So instead, I arrived Saturday at the dance marathon, still nervous, but at least determined. After wandering around for a while making observations, I finally worked up the courage to snag a few “characters” I had observed on the dance floor for interviews. Both were enthusiastic and eager to answer my questions.

In retrospect, I would have been better prepared had I conducted more research prior to the event and interviewed the program directors. As a result, my article suffered in terms of background and statistics. The people I interviewed, however, produced some juicy quotes that give the story a nice human interest slant, which will hopefully compensate for any areas in which it was lacking. In the future, I plan on being as bold as humanly possible. After all, I already feel much better about accosting passersby for interviews.

Leave a Reply

